BOOTCAMP

with Heather T. Forbes, LCSW

and Deanna Maki

Group A: January 12, 19, 26, & Feb. 2, 2021

Group B: February 17, 24, Mar. 3, & 10, 2021

Classroom180-3D.png
FROM THE                 BEST-SELLING AUTHOR
Heather T. Forbes, LCSW

Join the author for this one-of-a-kind experience to learn more about how to implement the contents of her ground-breaking book, Classroom180 This event will bring the pages of this book to life and give you the skills, confidence, and knowledge you need to support all your students during these unsettling times.

Registration is OPEN for Groups A & B!
Registration is closed for Group E.

VIRTUAL BOOTCAMP
DESCRIPTION

This multi-day intensive course is a deep-dive into the groundbreaking new book, Classroom180: A Framework for Creating, Sustaining, and Assessing the Trauma-Informed Classroom, by Heather T. Forbes, LCSW. The Classroom180 Framework is a comprehensive roadmap of what it means to fully create, implement, and sustain a trauma-informed classroom from kindergarten through the twelfth grade. Additionally, Classroom180 includes an assessment tool, the Classroom180 Rubric, that can be used by administrators and others specialists who support teachers on the journey of becoming trauma-informed.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this training is virtual. It is a blended training with the majority of the sessions conducted LIVE on the BCI Zoom platform with some course work being done through our Trauma-Informed Online Academy (TIOA). Each participant will receive a log-in and password to access the TIOA during the training.

This training is also being tailored to the current situation with the pandemic. Strategies and tools discussed are being labeled whether or not they are "Pandemic Possible." You will gain valuable ways to connect with your students despite the limitations created by remote learning and social distancing by attending this bootcamp. Each bootcamp has participants from around the U.S, Canada, and the world. We are creating a synergetic space to find new and innovative solutions to creating a trauma-informed classroom during these exaggerated times.

CURRICULUM
oVERVIEW

Creating an effective and life-giving trauma-informed classroom goes far beyond a few fidgets and a calm corner. This multi-day intensive event will equip you to be on the leading edge of being trauma-informed. You will learn and explore the five domains of Classroom180 along with each of the clearly defined twenty-seven components and their supporting indicators.

The Classroom180 Virtual Bootcamp is a comprehensive deep dive into the "how" of a trauma-informed classroom. You will learn how to:

Domain 1: Relationships and Family Culture​

  •  Develop a strong family culture within the classroom

  • Establish and teach hierarchy

  • Set love-based limits and boundaries

  • Develop safe and strong teacher-student relationships

  • Create an inclusive and judgment-free classroom

  • Build and strengthen student-student relationships

  • Involve parents and build teacher-parent relationships 

Domain 2: Regulation

  • Build and implement universal proactive regulatory strategies

  • Become more aware, open, and empathic during challenging times

  • Identify your own triggers and develop a greater self-awareness

Domain 3: Language of Trauma

  • Speak "the language of trauma"

  • Implement "right-brain" to "right-brain" de-escalation strategies

  • Improve your affect tolerance

  • Better read nonverbal communication

Domain 4: Safety

  • Establish effective safety protocols

  • Safely respond in a moment of crisis

  • Implement regulatory-based discipline

Domain 5: Discipline and Empowerment

  • Enforce consequences with relational support

  • Help students struggling with developmental deficits

  • Implement SEL with a trauma lens

  • Build up students' self-image and improve their sense of self

  • Find joy amongst the chaos

Using the Classroom180 Rubric

  • Use the Room Scan

  • Use the Classroom180 Rubric

  • Follow the 5-step process for assessment

who should
attend?

This multi-day intensive Classroom180 Virtual Bootcamp is designed for:  

Teachers
School Administrators
Educational Support Staff
School Counselors
Teachers

Teachers, this experiential training will provide you the roadmap to fully create, implement, and sustain a trauma-informed classroom. Additionally, you will be trained on how to use the assessment tools that are a part of Classroom180 for your own self-assessment. This will give you a foolproof way to make sure you are not only creating a successful trauma-informed classroom but that you also have a plan for future growth to maintain an ever-expanding and ever-deepening trauma-informed classroom for your students.

Administrators

Administrators, this training will deepen your understanding of what components are needed for a trauma-informed classroom so you can create the systems and structures to support your teachers. But more importantly, it will equip you with a solid way to objectively assess your teachers, using the Classroom180 Rubric. Eliminate the guess work. You will be trained on what to look for when doing a classroom observation and how to determine at what level your teachers are on their journeys to becoming trauma-informed.

Educational Support Staff and School Counselors

Educational support staff and school counselors, this training will give you a more comprehensive understanding of all the components needed to create a powerful trauma-informed classroom. It will move you to the next level in your expertise and sharpen your insight when you are working with teachers in the classroom. You will also learn how to use the Classroom180 Rubric, an objective and well-organized coaching guide, to debrief with teachers when helping them to shift their classrooms from a traditional platform to a trauma-informed platform.

what to
expect

This bootcamp is an intensive experiential experience. It is a unique event for those who are truly dedicated to being on the leading edge of the trauma-informed movement. This training will include the following: 

 

  • A deep-dive of the intellectual content

  • Interactive discussions through online discussion boards

  • Emotionally driven content

  • Engaging group work

  • Content-reinforcing exercises 

  • Mindful exercises

  • Practical and application-based filmed scenarios

  • Regulatory-based activities

  • Emotionally rich and self-reflective exercises

What else should you expect?

Expect to be challenged. Expect to improve your skill set. Expect to grow emotionally. Expect to fine-tune your ability to relate to challenging students. Expect to have a broader and more comprehensive view of being trauma-informed. Most of all, expect to have fun! 

DATEs &
times

There are currently three offerings of the Classroom180 Virtual Bootcamp. Join me for one of the following groups:

​​

The following is a list of times for the groups E (2020), A & B (2021):

Group E: Thursdays

November 12, 19, Dec 3, & 10

Group A: Tuesdays
January 12, 19, 26, & Feb 2

Group B: Wednesdays

February 17, 24, Mar 3, & 10

Group D
Nov. 6th
Session 4
Group E
Nov. 12th
Session 1
Group E
Nov. 19th
Session 2
Group E
Dec. 3rd
Session 3
Group E
Dec. 10th
Session 4

Don't see your time zone? Click HERE to convert.

Mix and Match If Needed

The beauty of online courses is that they give you lots of flexibility; and we all need that right now during this pandemic! You can cross over to different groups, if needed. For instance, if you signed up for Group A and attend Sessions 1, 2, & 3 but can't make Session 4, you can join Group B for Session 4. When you register, sign up for the group that you will predominately attend and then send us an email if you would like to join any of the other groups.

* The evening session listed is optional. This session will include emotionally intense exercises, designed to help participants be self-reflective and to connect the mind to the body. It is designed to support participants in their own healing journeys so they can expand their capacity for working with intense and challenging behaviors without getting triggered. The times are as follows: 8:00pm-9:45pm Eastern, 7:00pm-8:45pm Central, 6:00pm-7:45pm Mountain, & 5:00pm-6:45pm Pacific

Group E

Pre-requisite (optional) 
"Fifty Shades of Trauma" 

Thursday, November 12th

      1:45pm  -  5:00pm Eastern

   12:45pm  -  4:00pm Central

        11:45am  -  3:00pm Mountain
  10:45am  -  2:00pm Pacific

   9:45am  -  1:00pm Alaska

     8:45am  -  12:00pm Hawaii

Sessions 1, 2, 3, & 4  
Thursdays

Nov. 12 & 19; Dec. 3 &10

             

     5:30pm  -  9:00pm Eastern

     4:30pm  -  8:00pm Central

        3:30pm  -  7:00pm Mountain

   2:30pm  -  6:00pm Pacific

    1:30pm  -  5:00pm Alaska

  12:30pm  -  4:00pm Hawaii

Evening
Session*
Dec. 8th
Optional for all groups

Group B (2021)

Pre-requisite (optional) 
"Fifty Shades of Trauma" 

Wednesday, February 17th

     9:30am  -  12:15pm Eastern

    8:30am  -  11:15am Central

         7:30am  -  10:15am Mountain
  6:30am  -  9:15am Pacific

  5:30am  -  8:15am Alaska

  4:30am  -  7:15am Hawaii

Sessions 1, 2, 3, & 4  
Wednesdays

Feb. 17 & 24; Mar. 3 & 10

             

     1:00pm  -  4:30pm Eastern

  12:00pm  -  3:30pm Central

       11:00am  -  2:30pm Mountain

10:00am  -  1:30pm Pacific

    9:00am  -  12:30pm Alaska

   8:00am  -  11:30am Hawaii

Group A (2021)

Pre-requisite (optional) 
"Fifty Shades of Trauma" 

Tuesday, January 12th

      1:30pm  -   4:15pm Eastern

   12:30pm  -   3:15pm Central

        11:30am  -   2:15pm Mountain
  10:30am  -    1:15pm Pacific

    9:30am  -  12:15pm Alaska

    8:30am  -   11:15am Hawaii

Sessions 1, 2, 3, & 4  
Tuesdays

Jan. 12, 19, & 26; Feb. 2

             

     5:00pm  -  8:30pm Eastern

    4:00pm  -  7:30pm Central

        3:00pm  -  6:30pm Mountain

   2:00pm  -  5:30pm Pacific

    1:00pm  -  4:30pm Alaska

  12:00pm  -  3:30pm Hawaii

Group A
Jan. 12th
Session 1
Group A
Jan. 19th
Session 2
Group A
Jan. 26th
Session 3
Group A
Feb. 2nd
Session 4
Group B
Feb. 17th
Session 1
Group B
Feb. 24th
Session 2
Group B
Mar. 3rd
Session 3
Group B
Mar. 10th
Session 4
Evening
Session*
Jan. 28th
Optional 
Evening
Session*
Mar. 4th
Optional 
agenda
at a glance

Session 1

  • Welcome and introductions

  • Classroom180 and the Rubric

Domain 1

  • Family Culture

  • Video examples

  • Teacher-Student Relationships

  • Role-play

  • Student-Student Relationships

  • Video examples

  • Teacher-Parent Relationships

  • Gallery Walk

Q&A

Session 2

  • Welcome back and review

Domain 2

  • Room Scan Interactive activity

  • Transitional Support Video example

  • Interactive Poll 

  • Teacher Self-Regulation with video example 

  • Guided practice with the Classroom180 Rubric

Domain 3

  • Scale of Emotions

  • Gallery Walk

Q&A

Session 3

  • Welcome and rapid fire flashcard  review

Domain 4

  • Safety Lesson video example

  • Pickerwheel examples

  • "Mr. Slammie"

  • Video example of safety protocol

  • Gallery Walk of Safety Plan Lessons

  • Role-play

  • Video example showing the dynamics between student, principal, and teacher

Q&A

Session 4

  • Welcome back and review

Domain 5

  • Regulatory-Based Discipline

  • "Let's Work Through This" example

  • Video examples to show real-life classroom application

Using the Rubric

  • Observation of a classroom SEL lesson 

  • Completing the Rubric

  • Ppst-Observation Conference

  • Growth Plan

Final Q&A / Next Steps

Bonus:

You will have access to over 10 hours of online optional courses through the Trauma-Informed Online Academy to continue and deepen your learning. This bonus option, along with access to the recordings of each Bootcamp session, will be available to you for 60 days from the start of the bootcamp.     

contact hours

We are approved to provide Continuing Education Units/Credits by the
following agencies. It is the responsibility of each attendee to ensure this
virtual conference meets your licensing board requirements!

For more information, click HERE.

LIVE contact hours (4 sessions):    13.0

Optional LIVE evening session      1.75

Online contact hours:                      3.0

TOTAL CONTACT HOURS           17.75 

PREREQUISITEs for
ATTENDance

Participants are expected to have a basic understanding of ACEs, trauma, and the brain. This course will not go over the foundational material but rather, will jump right into the depths of the material. It is expected that all participants will have read Help for Billy by Heather T. Forbes, LCSW prior to the start of the bootcamp.

To purchase, click 

 

Complete Online Basic Training
computer for the TIOA.png

Computer not included.

 

Additionally, each participant is required to complete an online pre-requisite training. Two options are available:

  1. With your paid registration, you will be given complimentary access to a pre-requisite course on our                                                                       . Prior to the start of the virtual bootcamp, you will be emailed an individual log-in for the TIOA. On this online platform, you will be given exclusive access to a short course that has been specifically designed for this training that will satisfy this pre-requisite training. 

  2. Or, you can attend the pre-requisite viewing of Heather's video presentation, "Fifty Shades of Trauma" at the start of each Session 1. About three hours prior to the start of Session 1, Heather will be there live to show this video while being there to answer any questions have in real-time through the chat area. Please see the times listed above for showing of this video.

 

All participants attending the bootcamp are expected to participate in one of the two choices listed above to ensure they are ready to make a deep-dive at the start of this event. 

Meet your
instructors

Heather T. Forbes, LCSW, is the owner of the Beyond Consequences Institute and author of Classroom180 and numerous other books on the topic of working with children impacted by trauma. Coming from a family of educators, Heather has a passion for helping children in the classroom. Trauma robs children of their curiosity, and Heather’s passion is to help these students return back to their innate love for learning. She consults and lectures extensively with both general and special education schools around the nation. Her signature style is to bridge the gap between academic research and “when the rubber hits the road” classroom situations, giving teachers and school personnel the understanding and tools they need for even the most challenging of students. Heather has worked in schools with trauma-impacted students and knows firsthand how challenging it can be on a daily basis with these students. Much of her insight on understanding trauma, disruptive behaviors, and developmental delays, comes from her own experience of raising two internationally adopted children and mentoring a severely trauma-impacted young adult.

Heather T. Forbes, LCSW

Lead Instructor

Deanna Maki, B.Ed./SPED

Co-Instructor

Deanna Maki, B.Ed. / SPED, is an education consultant and co-founder of E-Impact Consulting in Kelowna, Canada. She has worked in the field of education since 1994. As a former special education teacher, she is passionate about working with at-risk students, empowering children, and building community. After starting her family, she worked as an education consultant and trainer for numerous curriculum and school software programs where she was able to refine her skills in teacher training. Currently, Deanna serves as the vice president of Educational Impact, an online professional development company based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. As a subject matter expert in special education, teacher evaluation, social and emotional learning, and trauma, Deanna has authored over 200 online courses for educators. Through a collaboration with Heather T. Forbes, LCSW, and the Beyond Consequences Institute, the Trauma-Informed Online Academy was created to provide a step-by-step training program for schools to become trauma-informed. As contributing editor to Classroom180, Deanna’s contribution to the development of the Classroom180 Rubric were invaluable. She helped to shape and develop it into an evaluation tool that is clear, relevant, well organized, and concise.

 
tuition &
registration

This bootcamp is based on the content in Classroom180. During each session, you will be directed to specific pages in the book to complete the activities. Thus, it is imperative that you have this book for this bootcamp. The good news is that you will receive a great discount on Classroom180 plus FREE shipping (domestic shipping only) on the book with your paid registration.

Tuition with one copy of Classroom180

$427.00 USD

Tuition includes:

  • Multiple days and one evening of intensive training

  • One copy of Classroom180 ($54 value) 

  • Free shipping - domestic shipping ($15 value) 

  • Complimentary access to the Trauma-Informed Online Academy for an exclusive prep and networking course ($100 value) along with 60 days access for continual learning after the bootcamp.

Registration is OPEN for Groups A & B!
Registration is closed for Group E.

Tuition only

The book, Classroom180, is a required text for this training. This option is only for those who already have a copy of this book. Tuition includes everything listed above except Classroom180.

$380.00 USD

Registration is OPEN for Groups A & B!
Registration is closed for Group E.

hosted by:
Beyond Consequences Institute
1630A 30th Street, Suite 488
Boulder, CO 80301
Email: info@classroom180.com
Bootcamp Hotline: 303-993-8379 Option 3