MONDAY

June 29, 2020

Pre-Conference

10:00 am - 1:00 pm Hawaii

12:00 pm - 3:00 pm Alaska 

  1:00 pm - 4:00 pm Pacific

2:00 pm - 5:00 pm Mountain 

3:00 pm - 6:00 pm Central 

4:00 pm - 7:00 pm Eastern

9:00 pm - 12:00 am United Kingdom

6:00 am - 9:00 am Queensland, Australia (June 30th)

8:00 am - 11:00 am New Zealand (June 30th)

 

This session is designed to give participants a solid foundation of what defines trauma, how trauma impacts a student’s brain, and why students act out in negative ways due to their experiences of trauma. This session is a must for anyone who has little to no training in trauma as it will set the tone for the rest of the keynotes and break-out sessions to follow. All the other conference sessions will cover more advanced trauma-informed information so attending this session will get you ready and prepped for what is to follow.

 

An Important Note from Heather:

I also highly encourage this session for ALL participants, even if you have a strong background in trauma or if you’ve seen me present in the past. There truly are fifty shades of trauma, meaning there are multiple layers and layers—and more layers—to understanding how trauma impacts our students. Knowledge is power so the more you repetitively learn about trauma and all its nuances, the more you will be equipped to effectively and efficiently know which solutions and techniques to implement. Each time you open yourself up to the foundational premises of

trauma, the more you will deepen your knowledge base and become more of an expert in this area. Trauma runs deep into a child’s soul, so it takes a constant learning process to grasp the depth of how trauma changes not just our students, but all of us.

 

Build up your knowledge base and keep expanding your foundation by joining me for this very important start of the conference!

 

Press on,

Heather

*NOTE: This recorded session will also be available to conference attendees prior to the start of the times listed above for early viewing on your own.

Sponsor and Exhibitor Showcase

Open During the Zoom Happy Hour 

1:30 pm - 2:30 pm Hawaii

3:30 pm - 4:30 pm Alaska 

4:30 pm - 5:30 pm Pacific

5:30 pm - 6:30 pm Mountain 

6:30 pm - 7:30 pm Central 

7:30 pm - 8:30 pm Eastern

12:30 am - 1:30 am United Kingdom (June 30th)

  9:30 am - 10:30 am Queensland, Australia (June 30th)

11:30 am - 12:30 pm New Zealand (June 30th)

Zoom Happy Hour
Documentary Screening

2:30 pm - 4:30 pm Hawaii

4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Alaska 

5:30 pm - 7:30 pm Pacific

6:30 pm - 8:30 pm Mountain 

7:30 pm - 9:30 pm Central 

8:30 pm - 10:30 pm Eastern

  1:30 am - 3:30 am United Kingdom (June 30th)

10:30 am - 12:30 pm Queensland, Australia (June 30th)

12:30 pm - 2:30 pm New Zealand (June 30th)

Love Them First: Lessons From Lucy Laney Elementary

View the documentary trailer here.

Filmmakers Lindsey Seavert and Ben Garvin follow the students, families, and educators of Lucy Laney Elementary School in North Minneapolis. An insightful portrait of youth education in Minnesota, Love Them First: Lessons From Lucy Laney Elementary, provides an inside look into early childhood development, the school's infrastructure and the current needs of the community. The film puts the focus on the school's reality–over ninety-one percent of Lucy Laney's students are growing up under the poverty line, and the school has been flagged as failing to meet state and federal education bars. Enter Mauri Friestleben, the school's principal. Determined to see the students of Lucy Laney succeed, Freistleben, and supporting staff, decided to try a new approach as the school heads into a new year. The film was developed from a series of news stories with unprecedented access over the course of a year by KARE 11 reporter Lindsey Seavert and photojournalist Ben Garvin.

 

Following the documentary screening, a discussion will be facilitated by:

Heather T. Forbes, LCSW

Back to Top
Tuesday
Wednesday
sponsored by:
Beyond Consequences Institute
1630A 30th Street, Suite 488
Boulder, CO 80301
TISC-V Hotline: 303-993-8379 Option 1